Scary Books for All Year

Ellen WernerBooks

Scary Children's Books

Our WITS students love scary stories. Here are a few of their favorites and some read-alikes for Halloween and beyond! 

WITS Kindergarten students love “There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed A Bat” by Lucille Colandro. For a slightly spookier rhyming picture book, try “Los Gatos Black on Halloween” by Marissa Montes, or for a sweeter rhyming picture book, check out “Monster Trouble!” by Lane Fredrickson. 

A favorite of our third, fourth, and fifth graders every year is “Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark” by Alvin Schwartz. If you’re looking for more short horror stories for the middle-grade set, try “A World Full of Spooky Stories: 50 Tales to Make Your Spine Tingle” by Angela McAllister or “Short & Shivery” by Robert D. San Souci.

“Ghosts” by Raina Telgemeier is set during Day of the Dead and enjoyed by WITS Workplace Mentoring students all year! For more ghoulish graphic novels, check out “Baba Yaga’s Assistant” by Marika McCoola or “Suee and the Shadow” by Ginger Ly.