Enhancing Activities with Books

Daphne RobinsonBooks

Enhancing Activities with Books

Here are several activities that can be enhanced with books to encourage a child to read or explore independently. Visit a museum. A trip to the museum doesn’t have to … Read More

Scary Books for All Year

Ellen WernerBooks

Scary Children's Books

Our WITS students love scary stories. Here are a few of their favorites and some read-alikes for Halloween and beyond!  WITS Kindergarten students love “There Was an Old Lady Who … Read More

WITSummer Books Highlights

Ellen WernerBooks

WITSummer Books Highlights

Each year, as our programs wrap up, WITS gives each student in our one-on-one volunteer programs a bag of four-five brand-new books. We hope that these books remind students of … Read More

Importance of Summer Reading

Kristen StrobbeBooks, Outcomes

The Importance of Summer Reading

Soon, the days will be sunny, the breezes will be warm, and the afternoons will be lazy. Summer is coming for Chicago and there’s no better summer activity than reading … Read More