WITSummer Books Highlights 2021

Ellen WernerBooks, Support

We are excited to wrap up this very unusual year with our annual tradition of WITSummer Books. Like in past years, WITS is giving a selection of diverse, high-interest books … Read More

What is a Book Talk?

Ellen WernerPrograms, Volunteers

What is a book talk

A Book Talk is like a very short “commercial” for a book. The goal of Book Talks is to share favorite books so that students can learn about titles recommended … Read More

Diverse Winter Picture Books

Ellen WernerBooks

Text reads Diverse Winter Picture Books and there are three book covers in front of a blue background with white snowflakes

WITS often discusses how important it is for children of all backgrounds to read diverse books. While some of the titles below are culturally specific, many are not. All, however, are … Read More

Ghost Stories for All Ages

Ellen WernerBooks

It’s spooky season! October is a perfect time to curl up with some good ghost stories. WITS often discusses how important it is for children of all backgrounds to read … Read More

Baby Books: Black Kids Being Kids

Ellen WernerBooks

Recently, there’s been a huge interest in diverse books and books about race and racism. Children’s books specifically about race and racism are important. Equally important are books that feature … Read More

Scary Books For All Year

Ellen WernerBooks

Scary Children's Books

Our WITS students love scary stories. Here are a few of their favorites and some read-alikes for Halloween and beyond!  WITS Kindergarten students love “There Was an Old Lady Who … Read More

WITSummer Books Highlights

Ellen WernerBooks

WITSummer Books Highlights

Each year, as our programs wrap up, WITS gives each student in our one-on-one volunteer programs a bag of four-five brand-new books. We hope that these books remind students of … Read More